Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission

Monday, February 27, 2017 Minutes

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Rep. Dale Lueck, Chair

Sen. Greg Clausen

Sen. John Hoffman

Rep. Mary Kunesh-Podein

Sen. Jerry Newton

Rep. Julie Sandstede

EXCUSED:

Sen. Justin Eichorn

Rep. Sandy Layman

Rep. Tim O'Driscoll

Sen. Eric Pratt

Sen. Carrie Ruud

Rep. Linda Slocum

Rep. Lueck called the Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission to order at 9:35 a.m. on Monday, February 27, 2017 in Room 10 of the State Office Building. A quorum was not present.

Director, Aaron VandeLinde provided an overview of the School Trust Lands (101); what it is and its history.

A description of the Western States Land Commissioners Association was presented by Mr. VandeLinde. The Association has asked Minnesota to host their 2018 summer meeting.

Corrie Floyd, Geologist from the DNR, provided a presentation of the Aggregate Resources portion of the Permanent School Trust Fund. One highlight is the Aggregate Finder Web (map).

The following bills were discussed:

- a. HF1233 Lueck/SF1028 Ruud, BWCAW funding and School Trust Lands appropriations
- b. HF143 Green/SF372 Utke, Counties allowed to file no net gain policies and land sales required
- c. HF434 Fabian/SF326 Ingebrigtsen, Wetland replacement for local gov't roads
- d. HF197 Lueck/SF02 Ruud, Cuyuna Country SRA Bonding

Proposal

- e. HF1246 Lueck/SF-XX, PILT payment increase
- f. HF1560 Newberger/SF-XX, Sand Dunes State Forest Management Plan

Testimony regarding HF1560 was heard from Bob Meier, Policy and Government Relations Director, DNR.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:45 a.m.